Time passes

The first 6 months have already been and gone.  They were easier than expected. Or rather easier than everyone told me they would be, or rather, pretty much as I expected and therefore not as hard as all my friends seemed to report.  I think this may be in part because I have looked after a fair few children  in my life, and in part because I know that my little boy is my miracle, and one that won’t be coming around again.  This has made the exhaustion and frustrations and incompetences pale in comparison to the  joy and wonder.

Lest I seem too glowing, I should report that not all is perfect…my old body is cracking up and I notice the difference between myself and the younger mums.  I have just visited the doctor to get a referral for cortisone injections in my wrists and my back is packing it in!    I am in physical pain for sure, but it’s worth it !

My little man is teaching me to look at life anew. I am learning that I am not so important in the world and yet I am everything to him. I am learning to slow down and find little joys and little moments in which to share  discoveries.  I have learned that a tissue is quite as fascinating as the ocean , at least when you are 6 months old.    I am so glad that I did not miss out on this!

Just one of many beautiful moments

One Response to “Time passes”

  1. Jonathan Boldt Says:

    I just wrote an ebook called “Shooting Blanks: a husbands perspective on missing the mark and dealing with infertility” and was wondering if you would be interested in reviewing it for your blog or if you would like me to write a guest post. Either way I’d be happy to send you a free copy to read.

    http://www.amazon.com/Shooting-Blanks-perspective-infertility-ebook/dp/B00EYMOF9W/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1378329120&sr=1-1&keywords=shooting+blanks

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

